Effective 10/29/2018, New Jersey Sick leave law goes in effect. Please note the following key details:
- The new law requires employers to provide every employee one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked with a maximum accumulation of 40 hours in a benefit year. There are many details and factors to consider, but no matter the size of your NJ business you will need to take some action.
- Notice of Employee Rights must be posted by November 29, 2018. The NJDOL poster can be downloaded from the New Jersey government website: https://www.nj.gov/labor/forms_pdfs/mw565sickleaveposter.pdf
- Have employees sign off on receipt of the NJDOL notice.
- Please be sure to review your personal policy to determine if you are in compliance. Have employees sign off on a new staff handbook or policy if changes are made. Your current policy may already be in compliance if you offer paid sick time off.
- Employers need to determine the benefit period. We recommend Calendar year.
- If you do not have a tracking system in place, contact your payroll company to assist with implementation of the required accrual tracking.
- Existing employees can start to use their accrued sick pay 120 days after the effective date of 10/29/2018 which is 2/26/2019. For new employees, the accrued sick days start the date of hire and they are able use the accrued days 120 days after date of hire.
- Employers are not required to pay out any unused sick pay at the end of the benefit period or upon termination.
- For more information, can be obtained from the NJ Department of Labor website.